OnMissingMethod – Missing? Method? On?

February 14

I recently wanted to wrap a ColdFusion webservice in a single point-of entry interface. In ColdFusion 8, they have introduced the “missing method” design pattern, such that a call that tries to reach a function that does not exist can be handled without a harsh error return. So I thought to myself: “Self, this could be the lazy mans way of making an interface.” I don’t have to write stubs for function calls that get forwarded.

And it works great!!!     (for cfm pages)

But for one caveat. I’m trying to use it with Flash Remoting through calls from a Flex app.

The experience that I’ve encountered was basically that a call through this interface would execute fine: The code would execute for a function call (I could step through it within a ColdFusion debug session in Eclipse), but the interface via Flash Remoting, would have already reported back the ‘function not found’, so when the server side code tried to report back, it was too late, the initial error message was already processed.

Filed Bug: https://bugs.adobe.com/jira/browse/FP-1455

Please Comment, and/or vote!!

Leave a comment